Technology Links

Here's a small list of interesting sites we might visit in the classroom that you can visit at home...

Activities

Playground http://www.funbrain.com/brain/SweepsBrain/sweepsbrain.html

Poisson Rouge (Red Fish) http://www.poissonrouge.com/games.php

Scrub a Pup http://pbskids.org/martha/games/scrubapup/index.html

Switcheroo http://pbskids.org/martha/games/switcheroo/index.html

Dora's Magical Garden http://www.nickjr.com/dora-the-explorer/games/doras-magical-garden/

Dora's House http://www.nickjr.com/dora-the-explorer/games/casa-de-dora/

Sheep DASH http://www.bbc.co.uk/science/humanbody/sleep/sheep/reaction_version5.swf

Sheep GAME (roundup) http://www.sheepgame.co.uk

Art

Mix and Paint (colors) http://pbskids.org/curiousgeorge/games/mix_and_paint/mix_and_paint.html

Paint By Letter http://pbskids.org/superwhy/#game/paintbyletter

Splat Symphony http://pbskids.org/curiousgeorge/games/splat_symphony/splat_symphony.html

ABCYa Free Draw  http://www.abcya.com/abcya_paint.htm   (new)

KidMons Tiny Sketch  http://kidmons.com/game/paint-online  (new)

NickJr. Free Draw  http://www.nickjr.com/nick-jr-originals/games/nick-jr-free-draw/

Environment

Papal Encyclical, Laudato si' (24 May 2015) "a new dialogue about how we are shaping the future of our planet"    - Pope Francis  http://w2.vatican.va/content/francesco/en/encyclicals/documents/papa-francesco_20150524_enciclica-laudato-si.html

Paint and Make Our Environment http://www.sheppardsoftware.com/content/animals/kidscorner/paintandmake/indexpaintandmake.htm

Design and Care for our Sea & Aquatic Life  http://channel.nationalgeographic.com/wild/fish-tank-kings/interactives/build-a-tank/

Learn about and Explore our Planet  http://pbskids.org/plumlanding/games/

Build and Play in "Nature"  http://pbskids.org/naturecat/games.html

Go "Wild" Globally  http://pbskids.org/wildkratts/games/

Faith

Design a Church http://www.faithfirst.com/html/kidClub/games/designChurch.html

Government

Maine Kids dot-gov http://www.maine.gov/sos/kids

USA Kids dot-gov https://kids.usa.gov/government/index.shtml (new)

Keyboarding

10 Fast Fingers http://10fastfingers.com/typing-test/english

Typing Games http://www.freetypinggame.net/default.asp

Math & Science

Airlines Builder http://pbskids.org/cyberchase/math-games/airlines-builder/

Bugs in the system http://pbskids.org/cyberchase/math-games/bugs-in-the-system/

Disguise http://pbskids.org/cyberchase/math-games/disguise-combos/

Fill a Shape http://pbskids.org/cyberchase/math-games/can-you-fill-it/

Marble Maze http://pbskids.org/cyberchase/math-games/maze-and-marbles/

NASA - Cosmic Colors http://spaceplace.nasa.gov/cosmic-colors/redirected/#

NASA - Kids Club http://www.nasa.gov/audience/forkids/kidsclub/flash/index.html

Point of View http://pbskids.org/cyberchase/math-games/point-out-view/

Railroad Repair http://pbskids.org/cyberchase/math-games/railroad-repair/

Stories

Steven the Seagull http://www.lancsngfl.ac.uk/curriculum/literacy/lit_site/html/fiction/stevenseagull/atthe/Index.htm

The Bitaba Bird (geodes) http://www.magickeys.com/books/bitaba/index.html

Invisible Alligators http://www.magickeys.com/books/invis-allig/index.html

The Brave Monkey Pirate http://www.magickeys.com/books/bravemonkey/index.html

The Wiener Dog Magnet http://www.magickeys.com/books/wienerdog/index.html

Websites

Dr. Seuss http://www.seussville.com/#/books

Learn4Good (thinking games) http://www.learn4good.com/games/index.htm

Nick Jr. (Kids) http://www.nickjr.com/games/

PBS Kids http://pbskids.org/

Zoos

National Zoo http://nationalzoo.si.edu/

Sandiego Zoo http://zoo.sandiegozoo.org/

Oregon Zoo http://www.oregonzoo.org/

Bembo’s Zoo (animated) http://www.bemboszoo.com/Bembo.swf

National Geographic Kids http://kids.nationalgeographic.com/kids/

Animal Planet Live (Streaming Cams) http://www.apl.tv/

Monterey Bay Aquarium http://www.montereybayaquarium.org/

Minnesota Zoo http://mnzoo.org/

London’s Interactive Farm http://hounslowurbanfarm.co.uk/

Halloween

Jack OLantern Creator http://www.primarygames.com/holidays/halloween/games/jackolantern_creator/

Trick or Treat http://www.primarygames.com/holidays/halloween/games/mazes/

Jack OLantern - Drag n Drop Puzzle http://www.primarygames.com/holidays/halloween/games/dragdrop/

Jack OLantern - Jigsaw Puzzle http://www.primarygames.com/puzzles/jigsaw/jack-o-lantern/

Pumpkin - Jigsaw Puzzle http://www.primarygames.com/puzzles/jigsaw/pumpkin/

Halloween Match Game http://www.primarygames.com/holidays/halloween/games/match_up/

Halloween Candy Bags http://www.primarygames.com/puzzles/strategy/candybags/

Halloween Pumpkins http://www.primarygames.com/holidays/halloween/games/halloweenpumpkins/

Typing of the Ghosts http://www.primarygames.com/holidays/halloween/games/typeghosts/

Thanksgiving

Thanksgiving Color http://www.primarygames.com/holidays/thanksgiving/games/cornucopia/

Turkey Slide Puzzle http://www.primarygames.com/holidays/thanksgiving/games/sliders/

Mayflower Drag n Drop Puzzle http://www.primarygames.com/holidays/thanksgiving/games/dragdrop/

Turkey Jigsaw Puzzle http://www.primarygames.com/puzzles/jigsaw/turkey/

Corn Jigsaw Puzzle http://www.primarygames.com/puzzles/jigsaw/corn/

Thanksgiving Match Game http://www.primarygames.com/holidays/thanksgiving/games/match_up/

Christmas

Christmas Color #01 http://www.dltk-kids.com/color/xmas6.htm

Christmas Color #02 http://www.thecolor.com/Category/Coloring/Christmas.aspx

Christmas Puzzles http://www.thekidzpage.com/christmas/puzzles.htm

Nativity Story via Social Media (video) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9UgXdOy4fGg

Easter

Easter Coloring Page http://www.coloring-page.com/easter/easter-03.html

Design a Church http://www.faithfirst.com/html/kidClub/games/designChurch.html

Data and Information

History of the Typewriter (wikipedia) http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Typewriter

History of the Computer (wikipedia) http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Computer

History of OS (wikipedia) http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/History_of_operating_systems

History of File Structure (wikipedia) http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Directory_%28computing%29

Directory Structure (University of West Georgia) http://www.westga.edu/its/index_5327.php

Vid Series #1: Original Purpose of Computers (Cameron Christensen)http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S-5Bf9S3lVY

Vid Series #2: Binary System Intro (Cameron Christensen) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W2cdW0Dycco

Vid Series #3: Computer Hardware Basics (Cameron Christensen)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-nuSLln-pY8

Vid Series #4: Computer Software Basics (Cameron Christensen) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-3nWC29Uyug

Vid Series #5: Computer Speed (Cameron Christensen) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Iow1svZ3QQQ

Vid Series #6: Computer Directory (Folder) Structure (Cameron Christensen)http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j9EKn1rtUCY

Vid Series #7: Computer File Sizes - A (Cameron Christensen) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sHm4L9VIJl0

Vid Series #8: Computer File Sizes - B (Cameron Christensen) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BchvDqb972Y

Alt Tech

Paint a Nebula http://29a.ch/sandbox/2011/neonflames/#

Paint like Jackson Pollock http://www.jacksonpollock.org/

Picasso Head http://www.picassohead.com/create.html

Cray Machine http://www.zefrank.com/snm/index.html

Explore Mars http://mars.jpl.nasa.gov/explore/curiosity/

Fly a Line http://www.barcinski-jeanjean.com/entries/line3d/

Build Your Own Kaleidoscope http://www.zefrank.com/dtoy_vs_byokal/

Fun with Fractions http://www.intotime.com/

Alt Tech v.2.0

Music Adventure http://www.madeon.fr/adventuremachine/

Fun With Music - A Touch Piano http://touchpianist.com/

Music Machine http://www.incredibox.com/

Sound Machine http://asoftmurmur.com/

Find the invisible cow? (sound) http://www.findtheinvisiblecow.com/

Global Imagery http://www.stratocam.com/

Animated Graphics http://animagraffs.com/

Driving Fun http://framesynthesis.com/drivingsimulator/maps/